Home > Identity and Branding > …And MORE!

…And MORE!

Jason Cohen of Smart Bear Software has an interesting post about the ubitiquous, sometimes inaccurate, and usually awful “…And More” phenomenon that is sweeping the nation: e.g, Bed Bath & Beyond; Linens & Things (RIP). He discusses some sites that say “and more” without actually having “more.”

There is one example of the “and more” I’ve seen that I think is useful: “Beverages, and more!” While the company’s punctuated name bugs me, I think it’s a synonym for “related items.” Such as:

> Wine and cheese
> Beer and pretzels
> Margaritas and salt

And this actually works when attracting customers. “Hey, we need beer and snacks for the Raiders game!” “Hey, we need wine and cheese for the 49ers game!” Beverages, and More! is actually the first place that springs to mind for me, because they have stuff to drink and stuff that goes with the stuff to drink.

However, I think it’s telling that they’ve rebranded themselves as BevMo! recently, although I believe that has much more to do with de-genericizing their name than with addressing the “and more” phenomenon. (See: FedEx vs. Federal Express; GE vs. General Electric; etc.)

Categories: Identity and Branding
  1. December 6, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Thanks Paul. Looks like you’ve just started this blog — I like your posts so far! I’ve subscribed to your feed.

  2. December 7, 2008 at 8:22 am

    This is an interesting phenomena. And one I’ve never ever thought of. Personally, I never shop at “more” places or “more” sites. They seem packed full of “more” which is nameless junk that ends up in a box. Hmmmm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

